Pick up your sword

A year ago, a younger, optimistic and full of hope me wrote this article about the lessons I’ve learned in 2015, thinking I finally had life figured out and that 2016 was gonna be my year. As it turns out, I didn’t have life figured out and 2016 completely knocked me over. It’s still a nice and inspiring article though, but I just wish it was that simple.

The thing is, the biggest mistake we can ever make is thinking “this is it, this is my moment, this is my year”. Because the second we do this, we put our guards down, throw away our weapons and become most vulnerable. And this is when life hits us hardest in the most unexpected way and when the things we fought so hard for get taken away from us in the blink of an eye. When you think you’ve won, this is when you lose.

But it’s also when you think you are the weakest that you’re actually the bravest. In the end, all we can do is keep trying and keep pushing even when all odds are against us. This too shall pass, but first pick up your sword and fight back with all you’ve got left. This is what I did when everyone else told me to forget and move on. Now as this bitter year finally comes to an end, at least I can say I survived it. Only this time, I’m not letting my guards down.

© SCRIBBLES & THOUGHTS, 2016.
One thought on “Pick up your sword

Leave a Reply

